Historical Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Review

The Spirit Guide | Elizabeth Davies

Publisher: CreateSpace (Independent Publishing Platform)
Published: 12/08/2014
Genre: Historical Fiction. Paranormal Romance
Format: eBook
Pages: 232
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Seren has an unusual gift – she sees spirits, shades of the dead.

Terrified of being accused of witchcraft, a very real possibility in twelfth century Britain, she keeps her secret close, not even confiding in her husband.

But when she gives her heart and soul to a man who guides spirits in the world beyond the living, she risks her secret and her life for their love.

Review
I was sent this eBook free from the author in exchange for my honest review.

This was the first book I’ve read by Elizabeth Davies, but it definitely won’t be the last. I was so captivated by what I was reading, I downloaded it onto my phone so I could read it on the bus to and from work. Seren has been able to see ghosts her whole life and, if she touches them, she is also able to relive their last moments. It is something that she’s learnt to keep a secret, in fear of being tried as a witch. We are thrown straight into Seren’s life without having to go through and long-winded introduction to the character.

Throughout the entire book, we’re only given brief descriptions of each person and, at the very end, it is still left up to the readers to imagine how Seren lives out the rest of her days. The simple ways that Elizabeth sets the scenes is amazing. You get drawn in, in an instant.

I know for certain, this is one of those books that I will return back to again and again because I am in love with the world that has been created. 

Leave a Reply

