Red Queen | Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: Orion
Published: 12/02/2015
Genre: Young Adult. Fantasy
Series: Red Queen #1
Format: Paperback
Pages: 383
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Synopsis (Goodreads)
This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living in the shadow of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Then Mare finds herself working at the Silver palace, in the midst of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

Review
Note to self: I really need to stop falling in love with characters in books. The author will either end up killing them off or, as in The Red Queen, use them as part of a major plot twist. I want to get my hands on The Glass Sword so that I can find out what is going to happen to both Mare and Cal further on down the line, but I will also admit that I am probably not going to rush out and buy it as soon as it gets released in paperback.

That being said, I did enjoy the double-crossing and betrayal that happen towards the middle of the book. It is definitely what kept me reading to the end as, I found myself slowly losing interest in what was going on in the last third of the book.

Overall, a good debut novel, I’m praying that TGS is a little better as this storyline has a lot more that can happen.

Leave a Reply

