Reasons to Stay Alive | Matt Haig

Publisher: Canongate Books
Published: 07/01/2016
Genre: Non-Fiction.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 272
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
What does it mean to feel truly alive?

This is the true story of how Matt Haig came through crisis, triumphed over a mental illness that almost destroyed him and learned to live again. Moving, funny and joyous, Reasons to Stay Alive is more than a memoir. It is a book about making the most of your time on earth.

Review
This book was amazing.

Reasons to Stay Alive was recommended to me by my brother’s girlfriend. At first I was a little cautious to start this because, with it being based on the author’s own battle with mental health problems, I was simply scared. But, I found myself laughing, and at times, holding back tears while reading my way through this book. I also saw so much of myself in the things that Haig wrote.

I have so many highlighted passages in this book, I know that I will be going back to them to read over when I need a bit of a pick-me-up. I cannot wait to read Haig’s other works.

Leave a Reply

