Review, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Maggot Moon | Sally Gardner

Publisher: Hot Key Books
Published: 03/01/2013
Genre: Young Adult. Sci-fi.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 280
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
When his best friend Hector is suddenly taken away, Standish Treadwell realises that it is up to him, his grandfather and a small band of rebels to confront and defeat the ever present oppressive forces of The Motherland.

Friendship and trust inspire Standish to rise up against an oppressive regime and expose the truth about a planned moon landing in this original and spellbinding book.

Review
Oh my God, this book…

I went into this book blind, having not read any reviews, or even the blurb. All I knew is that it is by Sally Gardner and I have loved her other novels. So, when I picked up Maggot Moon I knew I was going to enjoy it. And boy was I right. I devoured the whole book in only 2 sittings.

I loved the way that Standish was written – That he didn’t quite fit in with everyone else. I also loved how quickly him and Gramps took to the neighbours and welcomed them into the community. I really liked the fact the this novel is based around the friendships created, and not around romance (which has next to no place in this novel, apart from maybe for only a couple of the 100 chapters there are)

However, I did not expect the ending and when I read it, I just stopped in shock. While writing this, I still do not know just what to think about it.

Overall, I am completely in love with Gardner’s writing style and cannot wait to get stuck into the other of her novels that I own.

Leave a Reply

