Contemporary, Review, Romance, Young Adult

If I Stay | Gayle Forman

Publisher: Speak
Published: 08/07/2014
Genre: Young Adult. Contemporary. Romance.
Series: If I Stay #1
Format: Paperback
Pages: 259
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make.

Review
Oh. My. God. Bear with me while I collect the pieces of my heart that have been scattered all over the place.

This book is heartbreaking. I haven’t cried at a book in a long, long time until I read If I Stay. Now, I will admit that it was the impending release of the film that finally made me pick this book up and read it, just because the film looked like it was going to be good and I wanted to make sure I knew just what to expect when I saw it.

I found If I Stay to be a super-quick read for me (finishing it in a couple of hours) and the closer I was getting towards the end, the more I didn’t want to finish it incase it didn’t end on a happy note {Spoilers: It does} and once I got to the end, I found myself sobbing without even realising.

This was my first novel by Gayle Forman and I now know that it will not be the last. I cannot wait to get my hands on more of her books, just so that I can devour them as quickly as I did with If I Stay.

Leave a Reply

