Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Review, Young Adult

I, Coriander | Sally Gardner

Publisher: Orion
Published: 05/06/2006
Genre: Young Adult. Historical Fiction. Fantasy.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 320
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
In this exceptionally well-crafted tale, Coriander tells the story of her childhood in seventeenth-century London—and of her discovery that she has inherited magical powers from her mother, who was a fairy princess. But her mother’s sudden death brings on a dark time for Coriander. And after mourning her beloved mother and dealing with the disappearance of her father and the wrath of her evil stepmother, Coriander finds herself locked in a chest with no hope of escape and no will to survive. But when a bright light beckons to her, it is then that Coriander’s journey truly begins.

Review
I was drawn to I, Coriander by both the cover, as well as the synopsis. Now, I don’t normally read the synopsis of a book before I read it but I just couldn’t resist this one.

I, Coriander is breath-takingly written and piqued my interest in the first couple of chapters. Each chapter is short, but very fast paced and straight to the point.

Gardner has a way with words that captivates the reader from the beginning. I, Coriander is a cut above the rest and I cannot wait to read more from such an astounding author.

Leave a Reply

