Fantasy, Middle Grade, Review

TLOS: The Wishing Spell | Chris Colfer

Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers
Published: 17/07/2012
Genre: Middle Grade. Fantasy.
Series: The Land of Stories #1
Format: Hardback.
Pages: 438
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Alex and Conner Bailey’s world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

“The Land of Stories” tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

Review
When I first heard that Chris Colfer was going to be publishing a novel, I knew that I had to buy it and give it a go. And I am so glad that I did. I just know that The Land of Stories is going to be an amazing series.

There are quotes throughout The Wishing Spell that make me realise just how wise Colfer is for his age. I finished this book in only two sittings and I fell in love with all of the characters, as well as the land that is created by Colfer’s words.

I cannot wait to see just what else there is in store for these characters in the rest of the series. I know that Colfer will not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

