Childrens, Review

The Chronicles of Narnia (Series Review) | C S Lewis

Publisher: Harper Collins
Published: 1949 – 1956
Genre: Childrens
Series: The Chronicles of Narnia #1-7
Format: Paperback. Audiobook.
Pages: 1606
Rating: ★★★★★ (4.5 stars)

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Journeys to the end of the world, fantastic creatures, and epic battles between good and evil – what more could any reader ask for in one book? The book that has it all is The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, written in 1949 by Clive Stables Lewis. But Lewis did not stop there. Six more books followed, and together they became known as The Chronicles of Narnia.

For the past fifty years, The Chronicles of Narnia have transcended the fantasy genre to become part of the canon of classic literature. Each of the seven books is a masterpiece, drawing the reader into a land where magic meets reality, and the result is a fictional world whose scope has fascinated generations.

Review
I have had this entire series sat on my bookshelf for over 3 years when I finally decided that 2015 would be the year that I would read all 7 books. And I did it! I mean, each book was under 250 pages each and I managed to read read them in a day each.

I raced through each book so quickly that I really didn’t want to get to the end of the series and leave the world. I already knew the stories of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe as well as Prince Caspian but I still enjoyed them as much as the rest.

The only book that I was unable to get along with was The Horse and His Boy as for some reason, I just couldn’t get into it at all. I just found it slow and uninteresting – Which is a shame as so many people have told me that it was their favourite one of the whole series.

All in all, a very good children’s fantasy series that, if I ever have children, I will be sure to read it to them.

Leave a Reply

