Fantasy, Review, Young Adult

The Assassin’s Blade | Sarah J Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Published: 13/03/2014
Genre: Young Adult. Fantasy.
Series: Throne of Glass #0.1-0.5
Format: Paperback. Audiobook.
Pages: 448
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Celaena Sardothien owes her reputation to Arobynn Hamel. He gave her a home at the Assassins’ Guild and taught her the skills she needed to survive.

Arobynn’s enemies stretch far and wide – from Adarlan’s rooftops and its filthy dens, to remote islands and hostile deserts. Celaena is duty-bound to hunt them down. But behind her assignments lies a dark truth that will seal her fate – and cut her heart in two forever…

Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine and find out how the legend begins in the five page-turning prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.

Review
To put my feelings in the simplest way possible – I am broken. Completely. Truly. Utterly. Broken.

I knew what was going to happen as I had already read the first four books in this series before reading the novellas… But I didn’t know that it was going to hit me as hard as it did. While reading the TOG novels, I was always okay with the mention of Sam (at least up until Queen of Shadows) as I guess I never knew him as a proper character. But then comes the first novella The Assassin and the Pirate Lord and I am already in love with him.

The novellas, as with the rest of Maas’ works are amazingly written and I love how they lead right up to the very beginning of Throne of Glass.

I cannot wait to read more works from Maas and her novels are some of my most anticipated releases of 2016.

Leave a Reply

