Kindred Spirits | Rainbow Rowell

Publisher: Macmillan Children’s Books
Published: 25/02/2016
Genre: Young Adult. Contemporary. Short Story.
Format: eBook
Pages: 62
Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis (Goodreads)
‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does.

What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

Review
Kindred Spirits was such a fast, fluffy read. As soon as I read the synopsis, I knew that I wouldn’t be able to resist not reading this, mainly because I am a massive Star Wars fan myself. And one again,Rowell conveyed and amazing story, this time in less than 100 pages.

I loved how Rowell was able to pull me in as a reader from the get go, and I was able to devour this short story in only a few hours.

I cannot wait to get my hands on more of Rowell’s works – I think that Carry On may be my next read by her.

One thought on “Kindred Spirits | Rainbow Rowell

  1. It indeed was a fast and fluffy read, as soon as I got it I read it. I am a huge Star Wars fan as well! I didn’t like the way the prequels were viewed in it though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

