Half Bad | Sally Green

Publisher: Penguin
Published: 27/03/2014
Genre: Young Adult. Fantasy.
Series: Half Bad #1
Format: Paperback
Pages: 380
Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Wanted by no one.
Hunted by everyone.

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus.

Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves? 

Review
I went out and bought this book when I first saw the author Sally Green on the news one morning. I then attempted to read it on two separate occasions, but struggled to get into it – I think I just wasn’t in the mood to read it at the time.

Then 2015 came around and I was at a book signing where I saw Half Wild book 2 in the trilogy on the shelves and decided that it was about time that I tried to start it again. And third time was the charm, as I raced through this in only two sittings.

Half Bad has a completely different premise to any of the other books that I’ve read, and I cannot wait to see how Green ties up the trilogy in Half Wild and Half Lost.

Overall, this was a heartwrenching start to the series, and I know that I need to hurry up and read Half Wild before Half Lost is released in paperback.

Leave a Reply

