Review, Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Gemina | Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Publisher: Rock the Boat
Date Published: 20/10/16
Genre: Sci-Fi. Young Adult.
Series: The Illuminae Files #2
Format: Paperback. Audiobook.
Pages: 672
My Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis {Goodreads}
Hanna Donnelly is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik Malikov is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. Together they struggle with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, blissfully unaware that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall with news of the Kerenza invasion.

Review
Did I struggle to start this book? Yes. I bought it while I was in a reading slump and regretted not being able to get into it straight away. But when I finally did manage it, this book literally tore my heart into pieces, before haphazardly sticking it back together again with sticky tape. I didn’t know what to expect with each page turn, what would happen to the characters, or who was going to kill who, be killed, or betray someone next.

It’s been a while since I read Illuminae but, I think that I actually preferred Gemina over it. The plot moved a lot faster and I loved how it showed the parallels that run throughout the book, after a certain point.

I can’t wait to see what else the authors have in store for this world, and just how they’re going to tie everything together.

2 thoughts on “Gemina | Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff”

  1. Right now I am reading Illuminae and I am enjoying it. I hope to get to Gemina soon after I have finished it (at least before the third book comes out).

    Like

Leave a Reply

