Dystopian, Review, Young Adult

Branded | Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki

Publisher: Abi and Missy Books
Published: 28/06/2013
Series: A Sinners Series #1
Genre: Dystopian. Young Adult.
Format: eBook
Pages: 318
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Fifty years ago the Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. He created the Hole where sinners are branded according to their sins and might survive a few years. At best.

Now LUST wraps around my neck like blue fingers strangling me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit and now the Hole is my new home.

Darkness. Death. Violence. Pain.

Now every day is a fight for survival. But I won’t die. I won’t let them win.

The Hole can’t keep me. The Hole can’t break me.

I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter.

My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story

Review
I received this eBook from the author in exchange for an honest review

Oh. My. Goodness. I don’t even know where to start with this review.

I finished this book in only two sittings, I just could not put it down. The way that the words built the world around me, was absolutely breathtaking.

I’ve read a few books where the female protagonist was a little to a little too much for me. But Lexi… Lexi is one of those characters that I fell in love with from the very beginning. She is smart and she stands up for herself and that is something that I love in characters.

Cole, Cole, Cole. Now where do I begin with Cole? I love how protective he is over Lexi from the start, but at the same time, he lets her make her own choices. And, if it’s something that he doesn’t quite agree with, he will try to make her see his way of thinking.

My absolute favourite character in the whole book has got to be Zeus. He’s Cole’s dog and as soon as he was introduced, I knew that I was going to love him, and worry about him because of the world he was living in. During the last few chapters, I was terrified that he was going to get hurt or killed and I definitely let out a sigh of relief when he was left unharmed.

Leave a Reply

