Dystopian, Review, Young Adult

ACID | Emma Pass

Publisher: Random House Children’s
Published: 25/04/2013
Genre: Young Adult. Dystopian.
Format: Paperback
Pages: 429
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
The year is 2113. In Jenna Strong’s world, ACID—the most brutal controlling police force in history—rule supreme. No throwaway comment or whispered dissent goes unnoticed—or unpunished.

And it was ACID agents who locked Jenna away for life, for a horrendous crime she struggles to remember. But Jenna’s violent prison time has taught her how to survive by any means necessary.When a mysterious rebel group breaks her out, she must use her strength, speed, and skill to stay one step ahead of ACID, and try to uncover the truth about what really happened on that terrible night two years ago. They have taken her life, her freedom, and her true memories away from her. How can she reclaim anything when she doesn’t know who to trust?

Strong, gritty writing, irresistible psychological suspense, and action consume the novel as Jenna struggles to survive against the all-controlling ACID. Seriously sinister stuff.

Review
IMPORTANT READERS COMMENT: I first started reading this book in 2014 but as with most other things I start, I got distracted by something new that came up. I kept on telling myself “Get your act together and finish it Jemma! You know it’s going to be good.” so, with 2 full days left in May, I set myself the challenge to read it before the month was out. And I managed to do it!

– – –

ACID is set in 2113 and ACID currently rules over the Independent Republic of Britain. Jenna Strong has survived 2 years as the only female in Mileway, a maximum security prison, for the murder of her parents.

In YA books, I often find the female lead to be a little annoying but Jenna is anything but. She is a strong and independent character who isn’t afraid to stand up for herself and her beliefs. Also, the main thing that I adored about this book is that Jenna had to rely on the help of adults and other people to be able to accomplish her main goal. To me, this made the journey that Jenna goes through more believable as, at 17, she is still young and, in my eyes, she would be unable to bring down the entire government on her own.

I will admit, when Max was first introduced to us, I thought that he was going to be the love interest for Jenna within a couple of chapters. I was, however, pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed watching their relationship grow from relying on each other to be able to escape from ACID.

While the romance side of things played a little role throughout the book, I can understand why it was Jenna’s main reason to do what she did at the end. I am so happy that I decided to finally get around to finishing this book and would definitely recommend to any reader who enjoys having a strong lead female character.

Leave a Reply

