A Court of Thorns and Roses | Sarah J Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Published: 05/05/2015
Genre: Fantasy. Young Adult.
Series: ACOTAR #1
Format: Paperback
Pages: 416
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
When nineteen-year old Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal but Tamlin – one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s ever been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin – and is world – forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Review

Wow. I can certainly say that I was not disappointed when I read this book. I will admit however, that it did take me about 100 pages or so to actually get into the flow of the book. Normally I’m not the biggest fan of fairytale retellings but ACOTAR was so well written that it’s not clear straight away that it’s a retelling of Beauty and the Beast.

I have always enjoyed the way that Sarah writes and portrays her characters throughout all of her books. The way that they, along with the world-building, complement each other so perfectly that you are able to fall completely into their world.

Feyre is, in my opinion, the ultimate heroine. In the beginning, she fights for her family, to keep them alive. In the end, she fights for love, for the one who has her heart and soul.

Tamlin is everything that you could want a cursed prince to be. He is strong, he is loyal, and he would do anything to protect the ones that he loves. But I get the feeling there is something not quite right with him and his court. I guess we’ll just have to wait and find out.

Rhysand.. Oh, where do I begin when it comes to Rhys?! To put it simply, I didn’t like him in the beginning. And then he just grew on me… It is now safe to say that I cannot wait to see more of him and how he is going to grow throughout the rest of the series.

You don’t feel like you are simply the reader, you feel like you are a side-character that is always there, taking part in the adventures that everyone goes on. To me, that is what creates an amazing book. When a reader can immerse themselves in the world that they are holding in their hands, a world that the author has created for them. Sarah has definitely managed to do this with ACOTAR and I have no doubt that she will be able to do it again and again with any other books to come.

One final thought: I simply cannot wait to dive back into Feyre’s world and watch the characters grow into themselves throughout the rest of this trilogy.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s