Fantasy, Review, Young Adult

A Court of Mist and Fury | Sarah J Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury
Published: 03/05/2016
Genre: Young Adult. Fantasy.
Series: ACOTAR #2
Format: Paperback
Pages: 624
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis (Goodreads)
Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.

Review
As I am writing this, it has been 1 hour since I read the last page of this book… And if I am completely honest, I’m not sure how much sense that this review is going to make because of feels. When I first picked up ACOMAF I just wasn’t ready for it – I had other things distracting me and, while I was so very excited to read it, I read the first chapter and then left it alone for a couple of days. But then roll on this morning {11 May 2016}, and being awake since 3AM, and I have now finished it, and I no longer know what to do with my life.

I couldn’t wait to read more of Maas’ characters that I had fallen in love with so quickly during A Court of Thorns and Roses, especially so that I could find out just what the hell was wrong with Rhys at the end of it. When I read THAT scene in Ch. 2, I couldn’t help but cringe. It’s not that it wasn’t well-written {so far, I can find no fault with Maas’ writing}, it’s just that I found it to be so desperate and fueled by nothing other than the need to feel something. I liked Tamlin as a character in ACOTAR, but then again, I liked all of the characters in ACOTAR {including Amarantha. She was a character that you just loved to hate}, but within the first few chapters of ACOMAF my liking for him disintegrated.

Rhys, Rhys, Rhys… I never know where to start when describing my feelings towards Rhys. RhysxFeyre is my ship for this (?)trilogy, and has been since the very beginning.

My heart shattered into a million little pieces at the end of ACOMAF, and I was so freaking scared for my characters, I thought that Maas was going to literally keep us guessing about the outcome of that last major scene until the release of the next addition to this series, so I was more than happy when it was revealed what had actually happened and that everything was okay-ish. Even if Feyre is literally back where she started out.

2017 cannot come around fast enough, and I know that I cannot wait to be able to get my hands onto the next release in this amazing set of books. I really need to know if my babies are going to be okay…

Leave a Reply

